New President of the Advisory Board and WAC Committee Members recently installed

During the first meeting of the new Advisory Board 2010-2014 of the World Academy of Ceramics held in Montecatini Terme on June 8, 2010, first of all deep concern was expressed for the sudden death of Fred Lange, an outstanding member of the international ceramic scientific community and WAC Member, who offered a strong contribution to the Academy activities for several years.

After a welcome of Council Chair who also expressed his great appreciation for the work done by the expiring Board and Committees, and particularly to the respective chairs i.e. François Baumard, Gary Messing, Paulo R.H.M. Bittencourt and Ludwig Gauckler, Prof. Masahiro Yoshimura and Gary Messing were unanimously elected as the new President and the new Vice-President of the Advisory Board of the Academy for the four years run 2010-2014.

The Academy Committees 2010-2014 were nominated as follows:

Nomination Committee

Mrityunjay Singh, USA (President); Stuart Hampshire, Ireland; Jürgen G. Heinrich, Germany; Jow-Lay Huang, Taiwan; Toshihiro Ishikawa, Japan; Hua Tay Lin, USA; Vojislav V. Mitic, Serbia; Tatsuki Ohji, Japan; Ahmad Safari, USA; Pavol Sajgalik, Slovakia; Sheldon Wiederhorn, USA; Yanchun Zhou, China

Forum Committee

Jean François Baumard, France (President); Sunggi Baik, Korea; Robert Danzer, Austria; Yury Gogotsi, USA; Junichi Hojo, Japan; Akio Makishima, Japan; Alexander Michaelis, Germany; Danilo Suvorov, Slovenia; Enrico Traversa, Italy

Prize Committee

José Arana Varela, Brasil (President); Ludwig J. Gauckler, Switzerland; Krzysztof Haberko, Poland; Gary L. Messing, USA; Yoshinari Miyamoto, Japan; Joseph Recasens, France; Yukio Sakabe, Japan

Proposals for main guidelines for FORUM 2012 and for PRIZE 2012 were also presented and discussed (see minutes of the AB meeting at the *Members Only* page).



From the left to the right: Jürgen Heinrich (observer), Mrityunjay Singh (new President of the Nomination Committee), José Arana Varela (new President of the Prize Committee), Robert Danzer, Gary Messing (Vice-President of the Advisory Board 2010-2014), Pietro Vincenzini (WAC Chairman of Council), François Baumard (new President of the Forum Committee), Masahiro Yoshimura (President of the Advisory Board 2010-2014), Akio Makishima (ICF representative in the Academy Advisory Board), Enrico Traversa, Yanchun Zhou and Junichi Hojo.